From Baltimore…

28 Jan

Tracking the album is officially done!

Bass went by pretty smoothly, Ramon did a good job tracking his parts :)  After bass, we began guitars…

Tracking guitars was interesting because I had to write a lot of rhythm parts that I don’t really play on a regular basis.  Joel and I share some lead parts and I had to adapt some of what I regularly play to make solid sounding rhythm tracks for Joel to then play over.  After that I would record the necessary lead parts.  It was a LONG but definitely worthwhile process.

Once guitars were done, it was time for all synthesizer parts.  This flew by ridiculously fast.  Most of the violin and string sounds I had already programmed using MIDI (all notes were mapped out on a grid, perfectly matched to the tempo), so all that was left for Ricky to do was record the more unique sounding synth parts live.

Vocals…

This was probably the most challenging part of the whole recording.  I had all my melodies and lyrics rehearsed, but when the time came to begin to lay down some tracks, Justin began to revise the songs and take a different direction with some he thought needed some help.  This represented the challenge because he got me singing melodies I was not used to singing and he also exploited my range.  Again, the results were really good.  I’m pretty sure the rest of the band thought this was cool because it seemed we were in a point where everybody was already satisfied with all the vocal parts we had, and to hear these changes totally caught us off guard.  We were all happy with the results.

We finished tracking everything up to the last minute.  We listened to every song before leaving the studio just to get a taste of what the album would sound like and everything was sounding great.  I can’t even imagine how good this album is going to sound once its mixed and mastered.

Right now, Rhandy, Joel and I are at IBOT studios with our friends from the band See Camden which I mentioned around 2 posts ago.  They are recording some songs which are sounding ridiculously insane.  More to come on my next post😀

Any questions?

Leave a Reply

